“Life begins where fear ends.” -Osho

OSHO’s Chakra Breathing Meditation is a one hour active meditation using deep breathwork to access and release energy through the chakras.

“Energy is needed, and energy is always beautiful. If you don’t know how to use it, it becomes ugly; then it goes on running astray. The energy has to go higher. Sex is the lowest center of your being — but that is not all: you have seven centers of your being. As the energy moves upwards, if you know the key how to release it upwards, as it moves from one center to another, you feel so many transformations. When the energy comes to the heart chakra, to the center of the heart, you become so full of love you become love. When the energy comes to the third-eye center you become consciousness, awareness. When the energy comes to the last chakra, sahasrar, you bloom, you flower, your tree of life has come to a fulfillment: you become a Buddha.

But the energy is the same. Don’t condemn; don’t suppress. Transform. Be more understanding, alert; only then will you be able to enter in totality. And there is no other way; the other way is just to dream and imagine.” —Osho

Osho’s Chakra Breathing Meditation uses breathwork to become aware of and experience each of the seven chakras, which are located along the center of your spine and up through the crown of your head. This meditation is active and uses deep, rapid breathing and body movement, accompanied by musical sounds to open and bring awareness and more openness to the chakras. Osho had this music specifically composed for this meditation:

“Music is a very subtle meditation. The seven notes of music are concerned with the seven chakras of the body and each chakra has its own note. If you concentrate on that chakra, you will start hearing that note arising within your body. The second chakra has
two notes, the third, three. One is important, the other two are just part
of it but create a harmony. It goes on becoming a greater harmony, rising
higher with each chakra. On the seventh chakra it is an orchestra. Each
chakra has its own form, its own music, its own taste, its own smell. The
deeper you move inside yourself, the more you find the whole world,
because if it is not within you, you cannot see it without either.
Something is needed to correspond.” —Osho

No prior experience is necessary. Instructions will be provided prior to meditation and there will be opportunity to ask questions and share after via Zoom.

Clothing – Wear very lose comfortable clothing.

There are two stages to this meditation:
1. Chakra Breathing -45 minutes

Stand with feet as wide apart as your hips or shoulders. Let your body be loose and relaxed. Close your eyes and with mouth open breathe deeply and rapidly into the first chakra. As you breathe let your attention be in the pelvic area of your body, where the first chakra is located. Equal emphasis should be put on both the in and out breaths. Don’t force your breathing; breathe in a rhythm that feels comfortable and allows you to become aware of the feelings and sensations of each chakra.
Breathe into the first chakra until you hear a bell which indicates to start breathing into the second chakra. Each time you hear a bell, move this deep rapid breathing up into the next chakra. As you breathe up from chakra to chakra your breathing should become more rapid and more gentle, so that you are taking about twice as many breaths in the seventh chakra as you were in the first.
While breathing, it is helpful to shake your body, stretch, tilt or rotate your pelvis and move your hands in any way that you feel, but let your feet stay in one spot. Allow your feet, knees, hips, and other joints to become like springs so that once you set the breathing and body into motion, the movement will become continuous and effortless. Let your awareness remain primarily with the sensations of the chakras, rather than with the breathing or the body movement.

After breathing in the seventh chakra, you will hear three bells. This is the signal to let your breath and awareness turn and fall back down through each chakra. As you breathe down allow your breath to become slower from chakra to chakra. Let the energy flow down by itself from the seventh chakra to include the entire spectrum of chakra energy from top to bottom, like seven colors blending into one rainbow. This downward breathing should take about two minutes and it is up to you how long you breathe into each chakra.

After you finish this sequence, stand silently for a few moments before starting the next sequence. This upward and downward breathing sequence is repeated three times, for a total of 45 minutes.

If you don’t feel the energy of your chakras at first, just breathe into the area where they are located. Remember not to push the breath, rather allow the breath and body movement to be like a bridge and carry you into the sensations and qualities of energy of each chakra. Becoming sensitive to different qualities of each chakra comes not through force, but through awareness and patience.

2. Silence -15 minutes.
After the third breathing sequence, sit relaxed with eyes closed in silence. As you sit don’t focus on anything in particular, remain a witness to whatever is happening inside you.